Uttar Pradesh Gears Up For Fifth Phase Polls Today

Uttar Pradesh Gears Up For Fifth Phase Polls Today

Lucknow: Polling for fifth phase of UP Assembly elections will happen today at 11 districts, with total number of 617 candidates participating in it for 51 seats. Around 1.84 crores voters are expected in this phase. Interestingly, out of 617 participants, 117 have the criminal background and 168 are crorepatis. Polling stations are set up in districts namely Amethi, Balrampur, Basti, Faizabad, Bahraich, Sant Kabir Nagar, Shravasti, Sultanpur, Siddharth Nagar and Gonda. As per EC (Election Commission), voting in alapur(Ambedkar Nagar) will happen on March 9 due to the demise of SP candidate Chandrashekhar Kanaujia.

According to ADR (Association for Democratic Reforms) report, the total candidates are from 75 political parties. It includes 6 national parties, 4 state parties, 65 unrecognised parties and 220 independent candidates are in the fray in this phase.

ADR report has also laid out the names of top three crorepatis. First one is Ajay Pratap Singh, a BJP contender from Gonda district with assets of over 49 crores. Second is Rani Ameeta Singh of congress party from Amethi district who holds assets of over 36 crores. BJP candidate Mayankeshwar Sharan Singh also from Amethi comes at third position with assets of over 32 crores.

In 2012 UP Assembly elections, the ruling SAMAJWADI PARTY had won 37 seats and BSP ended up with 3 seats. While BJP and Congress grabbed 5 seats each, Peace party had won 2 seats.

Elections happening in UP is no less than any major event and this time also leaders did everything to campaign for their respective candidates. The entire election is scheduled into 7 phases. Just two more phases to go and then the fate of India’s political heartland will be out.