Trump’s Revised Executive Order: Travel Ban Against 6 Muslim Nations, Excluding Iraq

Trump's revised executive order Travel ban against 6 Muslim nations, excluding Iraq

President Donald Trump has revised the executive order that was earlier signed on January 27 this year, barring Iraq this time from the banned list of countries travelling to the United States. The ban which would come into force on March 16 had earlier created chaos and affected people around the world. Keeping this in mind, the new order, which the White House said Mr Trump had signed in private neither comes into effect immediately nor has Iraq in the listed banned countries like earlier. However, the ban will remain against 6 other majority Muslim nations who were there in the first order list as well, namely Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen. These 6 nations would be blocked from entering the United States for at least 90 days. According to the White House official, Iraq was exempted form the banned list because the Iraqi government has promised to counter Islamic State militants. Failing to do so, Trump can put Iraq back on the banned list.

Besides this, the indefinite ban on refugees from Syria has also been lifted in the new order, but it will follow the 120 days refugees suspension order along with the other countries. That means, no refugees in the United States will be allowed for a period of 120 days. The move will also cut the number of refugees admitted each year to 50,000 from about 110,000. The new measures have been taken to strengthen vetting procedures, according to a homeland security summary of the order.

The new order gives relaxation to the people who have legal permanent residence in the US, known as green card. That means legitimate visa holders will remain unaffected with the new travel ban.

With president’s revision, a wave of criticism has again started from Democrats and immigrant rights advocates. People around the globe are fearful thinking about it’s long-term effects.