BJP’s Manohar Parrikar Sworn-In As Goa Chief Minister

BJP's Manohar Parrikar sworn-in as Goa chief minister

Amidst the political instability in Goa, BJPs senior leader Manohar Parrikar took oath yesterday as the chief minister of Goa. This is his fourth time serving as Goa CM, however the day wasn’t as smooth for him as it should be. Early on Tuesday, there was an urgent hearing in Supreme Court as congress earlier had filed petition to put stay on the swearing-in ceremony, but the plea was rejected refusing the stay on oath ceremony.

The oath ceremony took place at Raj Bhavan in Goa in the presence of BJPs National president Amit Shah, Union Ministers Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, J.P. Nanda among other top leaders. Goa Governor Mridula Sinha administered the oath of office to Manohar.

Out of 40 seats in Goa, Congress grabbed 17 and BJP won only 13. That means, no party reached the majority mark of 21. Even though BJP failed to reach the target, it managed to get support from BGP(3), GFP(3) and 2 independent candidates to form the government. Now, the party has been invited for the floor test on March 16.

Interestingly, the BJP leader is the first IIT graduate to serve as chief minister of an Indian state.
Parrikar resigned as defence minister on Monday and hand over all the responsibilities of the office to finance minister Arun Jaitely. Prime Minister Narendra Modi also congratulated Manohar over Twitter.